By Kyle Jillson | April 25 2012 16:43

The NRA's National Indoor Rifle Championships are NRA's biggest annual match. Last year saw 4,427 shooters and 687 teams compete for the 2011 Open and Junior titles. Unlike Camp Perry, Bianchi Cup, Black Powder and many of Competitive Shooting's other championships, the National Indoor Rifle Championships are shot all across the country at sectionals and the scores are compiled here at NRA Headquarters.

Anyone can compete and there are sectionals everywhere. There were 296 last year and we expect even more in 2012.

There's a pretty large window to shoot in a Sectionals Tournament and get your scores in. Competitors were busy shooting this past winter and spring, from Jan. 1 through March 18 for Open Sectionals, Jan. 1 through Feb. 12 for Collegiate Sectionals, and Jan. 1 through Apr. 15 for Junior Sectionals.

The ease of when you can compete in these championships is also its source of minor inconvenience. Unlike the championships mentioned above where the winners are determined on location and award ceremonies held at the end of the final day, the tradeoff of having little to no travel and a few months to compete means there is a delay in learning the final results.

We are now in that waiting period.

Scores have come in and there is a flood of them upstairs as they get meticulously checked and targets are validated by the Rifle Department staff.

NRA previously mailed sectional results to participants, but have now switched to online publishing. Scores will go online at the National Indoor Championships page around the end of May or beginning of June. Once this happens, there is a two week challenge period before scores become final.

The NRA National Indoor Championships are extremely easy to compete in and if you aren't you're just in time to start preparing for next year. Give Competitive Shooting a call at (703) 267-1482 or e-mail Dian Bullock at and find out how to get in on the action.

Comments are closed

Powered by BlogEngine.NET Theme by Cylosoft © Copyright 2015 The National Rifle Association of America